Google Apps: Testing (using Google Forms), 1, 2, 3…

The Google Apps experiment continued today with my first foray into conducting tests using Google Forms. I have previously used Forms for conducting student surveys and student self-evaluations, but I knew there would be some logistical challenges in attempting to conduct a test online. One issue I anticipated was the challenge of ensuring that students weren’t attempting to communicate via Google Chat during the quiz. I attempted to address this issue by reminding students that they should not be switching between different windows during the quiz. While I cannot be certain that this didn’t take place as I circulated around the room, I don’t believe this was a major problem. In the end the biggest issue for administering a quiz online was the standard layout of the computer lab. With students working side-by-side on computers it would be fairly easy for students to see the answers on their neighbour’s monitor. While I trust the vast majority of my students I would not be surprised if a few eyes wandered during the quiz.

As for the quiz itself, I chose to start off small with a short answer quiz based on group presentations on Canada during the Victorian Era. Creating the quiz in Google Forms was a very simple process, as outlined in this video:

Once the students were done their quizzes they were incredibly easy to mark. As outlined in the video, the student responses appear in a spreadsheet immediately upon being submitted. Having these responses appear in a spreadsheet makes even the short answer questions I used easy to mark. Unfortunately, I could not figure out a way to insert a grade or any comments on to the quiz itself, so students would have to review the quiz on their own to determine which questions they answered incorrectly. I would be interested in seeing if there was a way to get around this issue.

All in all, I would say that my first attempt to use Google Forms to conduct a quiz was a success. My students seemed to enjoy the process of writing a quiz online and I found the spreadsheet results to be ideal for marking.  While the potential for students to be able to copy answers off of another classmate’s monitor is a concern, I do foresee myself using Forms for other quizzes down the road. I am open to the possibility of conducting larger tests online as well, though I would need to attempt to address these concerns beforehand.

4 responses to “Google Apps: Testing (using Google Forms), 1, 2, 3…

  1. I haven’t used this program yet. I am currently working on working my math quizzes into the smart response software (www.smarttech.com). As teachers, we seem to be continuously having our plates overloaded. Any way that authentic assessment with timely feedback can be achieved in a more efficient way I’m all for! Good luck and I’m interested in seeing how this works out for you.

  2. Do you want the grades public or private? If public, share the resulting spreadsheet with your students (to view, not to edit). Add the grades to their responses.

    If private, I think you would have to send an email.

    I have all students fill in a form at the start of the term with their gmail addresses. Comes in VERY handy (and I don’t have to enter the data).

  3. busybusinessteacher

    So interesting. Today I learned this application as well. What is cool about Google forms is that it is compatible with Moodle. You can embed it right inside. Our division was very excited about that. Once of our economics professors is going to do a survey with the application and one of our Instructional Designers used it see when a good meeting time was for a group of people. You know I just thought of parent-teacher interviews, I wonder if this would work for that?Especially when you can publish the results, parents would be able to see the availability of the teacher they would like to see. Anyway, interesting that we are both on the same page. Good luck with the forms, Bettina Welsh

  4. What I think is important is that you are at least willing to give it a try! As a busy teacher, student and parent, the temptation would be to just keep giving tests as you always have – but the time you have spent learning about this one bit of Google Aps will not be wasted, and will lead to even more learning for you and for your students. It shows them that you are thinking about how to make the learning experience better, more efficient, more responsive to their needs, and that is an important message to be communicating!

Leave a Reply

