Thoughts on educational blogging…

Although I had to slip out of this evening’s EC&I 831 session with Sue Waters a few minutes early due to overriding parental obligations, I feel the time is ripe for me to respond to the question of the day: what are my thoughts on educational blogging?

Personally, I see significant potential value in educational blogging. At this point, I have barely gotten my feet wet when it comes to immersing myself as an active participant in the “blogosphere”. I have been blogging sporadically for educational purposes for the past few months. During this time I have enjoyed the highs of writing posts that have been viewed and commented on by many intelligent and helpful people from around the world. I have also endured the lows of writing posts that have vanished into the clouds with nary a whiff of a comment.  The comments that some of my blog posts have received have varied in content, with some being largely words of encouragement and others being responses to specific questions or issues I have raised. I see both types of comments as being incredibly valuable, especially to someone as new to this world as I am.

While I see educational blogging as a useful practice for both reflection and network building, I find myself struggling with the writing process. I am not the type of person who throws together a collection of thoughts or ideas and post them for the world to see. I’m the type of person who somewhat painstakingly deliberates over the structure of every sentence I write, be it for a student handout or a term paper. Not surprisingly I feel the need to do the same thing when writing a blog post to send off for the world (well ok, 32 people in a busy week!) to see. This slow writing process makes the issue of blogging a real challenge given the many demands that eat up large chunks of my limited time. I am hopeful that with continued practice the blogging process will become easier for me as it is something I would like to continue to explore using for my own uses and potential student uses as well.

5 responses to “Thoughts on educational blogging…

  1. Jeff Greenslade

    Right on Dan, I can totally relate to your issues. This is what I commented on in my blog. I feel that I don’t know how to write without scattering myself into different areas of ideas. I do enjoy the writing process but my blogs are taking up a considerable chunk of my time BUT I guess when we do this, we are actually taking it serious and can get lots out of the process. I feel that as long as we are aware of our issues we can then focus on how to make it a little simpler. Perhaps we can work together to bounce ideas off of each other. Hang in there, you are not alone 🙂

    • I think there are plenty of people in the same place as us, Jeff. Thanks for the support and I’d be happy to work with you on this or other matters as we go through #eci831 and beyond.

  2. Struggling with the writing process was my biggest barrier as language definitely isn’t my strength.

    Perhaps thinking of your writing as more of how you might speak might help you? It does become easier — but I still suffer envy at those who it comes naturally too.

  3. I appreciate your comments on the writing struggle that blogging can present. I would like to tell you about my own limited experience on dealing with that struggle.

    I don’t feel that blogging has to be a thrown together collection of thoughts or ideas. I mainly use my own blog as an outlet for ideas I’ve been thinking about a great deal or to organize my thoughts for the presentations I give. In either case, I typically do a quick pre-write that helps me stay on track (I can wander a lot otherwise!). I then write out my initial draft and walk away from what I have written without immediately posting. I go back when I’m ready to edit. Sometimes I will go through a few drafts this way. After I feel satisfied with what I have written, only then do I hit the “publish” button.

    Please don’t be afraid to let a post sit and “cure” for awhile before revising and publishing it to your blog. It can be for as little or as long as you want (as long as you meet your assignment deadlines! 🙂 This is just a suggestion for how to approach blog writing. Just remember to use a process that works well for you!

  4. I too can relate to the painstaking process of the writing portion. Another area that holds me up is actually being able to set up my pingbacks etc. with ease and so that too becomes time consuming. I think when we adjust to the world of blogging and social networking a bit better then things won’t take so long. My favorite part of the bloggin process is the creative writing part of putting together the posts. Take as long as you need and I agree with Ellsbeth-you are not obliged to publish immediately-let it sit for a while so you have time to sum up your idea.

Leave a Reply

